European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group

Toshi Ichiyanagi’s Concertino – Time Revival Premiered in Kobe

Oct. 01, 2019

Toshi Ichiyanagi’s <em>Concertino – Time Revival</em> Premiered in Kobe

On October 5, the Kobe City Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Masato Suzuki, performed the world premiere of Toshi Ichiyanagi’s Concertino – Time Revival at the Kobe Bunka Hall. The work is scored for string orchestra and two percussionists.

Listen to Toshi Ichiyanagi's Sapporo (1962) here:

                                          (Sapporo/Toshi Ichiyanagi/Ensemble Musica Negativa/Reiner Riehn, conductor)

Conductor-composer, Masato Suzuki has been busy with a number of other projects as well, including the completion of a new edition of Mozart's Requiem. The Seattle Symphony, under the baton of Masaaki Suzuki will give the US Premiere of Masato Suzuki's new edition of the Mozart Requiem on October 17, 19, and 20. In this new edition, based on Süßmayr’s complete and revised edition, an "Amen", based on the sketch of the Amen fugue discovered in 1960, is added after the "Lacrymosa". Additionally, the two main differences in this edition as compared to others are the incorporation of the orchestration made by Eybler, a student of Mozart, prior to that of Süßmayr, and the return to and the reexamining of the first edition published by Breitkopf & Härtel in Leipzig in 1800. To learn more about this new edition of Mozart's Requiem, click here.

Listen to Suzuki's Christmas Carol Medley here:

(Christmas Carol Medley/Masato Suzuki/Bach Collegium Japan/Maasaki Suzuki, conductor) 

Please visit to learn more about Toshi Ichiyanagi and Masato Suzuki

Toshi Ichiyanagi
Concertino – Time Revival (2018-19)
for string orchestra and percussion

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Requiem, KV 626
Completed and edited by Masato Suzuki
Based on the autograph of W. A. Mozart and on the completion by Eybler and Süßmayr
SJ 304